March 23, 2010


Andorra, is a small country in Europe, located in the Pyrenees mountains and bordered by Spain and France. It is the sixth smallest nation in Europe having an area of 468 km2 and an estimated population of 83,888 in 2009.

The Principality was formed in 1278. The role of monarch is shared between the President of the French Republic and the Bishop of Urgell, Catalonia, Spain. It is a prosperous country mainly because of its tourism industry, which services an estimated 10.2 million visitors annually, and also because of its status as a tax haven. It is not a member of the European Union, but the euro is the de facto currency.

the highest being the Coma Pedrosa at 2,942 metres, and the average elevation of Andorra is 1,996 metres.

The historic and official language is Catalan, a Romance language. Because of immigration, historical links, and close geographic proximity, other languages such as Spanish, French and Portuguese are also commonly spoken. Most Andorrans also speak Spanish (Castilian), French or both. Andorra is one of only four European countries (together with France, Monaco, and Turkey) that have never signed the Council of Europe Framework Convention on National Minorities.

No comments:

Post a Comment