February 2, 2010

Indonesia 240-000-000 population

Indonesia is the 50th country visiting this blog.

Population 240,000,000
Area :1,919,440 km2

Indonesia consists of 17,508 islands, about 6,000 of which are inhabited.These are scattered over both sides of the equator. The five largest islands are Java, Sumatra, Kalimantan (the Indonesian part of Borneo), New Guinea (shared with Papua New Guinea), and Sulawesi. Indonesia shares land borders with Malaysia on the islands of Borneo and Sebatik, Papua New Guinea on the island of New Guinea, and East Timor on the island of Timor. Indonesia also shares borders with Singapore, Malaysia, and the Philippines to the north and Australia to the south across narrow straits of water. The capital, Jakarta, is on Java and is the nation's largest city, followed by Surabaya, Bandung, Medan, and Semarang.

Indonesia's location on the edges of the Pacific, Eurasian, and Australian tectonic plates makes it the site of numerous volcanoes and frequent earthquakes. Indonesia has at least 150 active volcanoes,[70] including Krakatoa and Tambora, both famous for their devastating eruptions in the 19th century.

Indonesia's size, tropical climate, and archipelagic geography, support the world's second highest level of biodiversity (after Brazil),[74] and its flora and fauna is a mixture of Asian and Australasian species.

No comments:

Post a Comment